top of page
  • Writer's pictureFreddie Rawlins

Audio Visualizer

After seeing various audio visualizers online in a variety of forms, I thought it would be a good idea to make one of my own and learn about the theory behind representing a waveform.


I had just built "Sin on a Circle" and so a circular style seemed sensible. The fundamental idea behind it doesn't change very much: at any given time, cycle through the of frequencies (here each bar is the average of a band of 3hz to make it a manageable number), get the relative amplitude of each frequency and increase the size of the given bar by that much.


It works with any .mp3 or .wav file, though I haven't added functionality for adding your own song. If you want to you can download the code from OpenProcessing or my GitHub and then add your own filepath.



100 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page